Pintrest – http://pinterest.com


Pinterest lets you organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web. People use pinboards to plan their weddings, decorate their homes, and organize their favorite recipes.

Wiki Says”

Pinterest is a pinboard-style social photo sharing website that allows users to create and manage theme-based image collections such as events, interests, hobbies, and more. Users can browse other pinboards for inspiration, ‘re-pin’ images to their own collections and/or ‘like’ photos. Pinterest’s mission is to “connect everyone in the world through the ‘things’ they find interesting” via a global platform of inspiration and idea sharing. Founded by Ben Silbermann, of West Des Moines, Iowa, the site is managed by Cold Brew Labs and funded by a small group of entrepreneurs and inventors. It is one of the “fastest growing social services in the world.”

Usage

Pinterest users can upload, save, sort and manage images, known as pins, and other media content (ie. videos) through collections known as pinboards. Pinboards are generally themed so that pins can easily be organized, categorized and discovered by other users. Pinterest acts as a personalized media platform, whereby your own content as well as anyone else’s uploaded pins can be browsed on the main page. Users can then save their favourite pins to one of their own boards using the “Pin It” button. Content can also be found outside of Pinterest and similarly uploaded to a board via the “Pin It” button which can be downloaded to the bookmark bar on a web browser.

There are several ways to register a new Pinterest account. Potential users can either receive an invitation from a friend already registered, or request an invitation directly from the Pinterest website. An account can also be created and accessed by linking Pinterest to a Facebook or Twitter profile. When a user re-posts or “re-pins” an image to their own board, they have the option of notifying their Facebook and Twitter followers; this feature can be managed on the settings page. Users that choose to log into Pinterest via Facebook must currently be using Facebook’s “Timeline” format.

On the main Pinterest page, a “pin feed” appears, displaying the chronological activity from the pinterest boards that a user follows. When browsing for new boards and relevant pins, users can visit a “Tastemakers” page that recommend pinboards with content similar to previous pins saved by a user. For both guests and Pinterest users, there are currently four main sections to browse: everything, videos, popular and gifts. These subcategories provide an organized system of browsing, which helps fellow users to connect and share interests.

Quick links to Pinterest include the “pin it” button that can be added to the bookmark bar of a web browser, “Follow me” and “Pin it” buttons added to personal website or blog page, and the Pinterest iPhone application available through the App Store.

The website has proven especially popular among women. The most popular categories on Pinterest that got the most popular pins are food & drink, DIY & crafts, and women’s apparel.

In March of 2012, law enforcement is using Pinterest to reach new audiences beginning with the Kansas City Police Department in Missouri.

Pinboards can be used by educators to plan lessons. Teachers can pin sites for later referral. Students can pin and organize sources and collaborate on projects.

Pinterest has played a role in the 2012 US Presidential Election. The wives of both candidates created accounts. Ann Romney debuted her Pinterest account in March and First Lady Michele Obama announced hers in June.

What Can You Do with Pinterest?

Redecorate your Home!

Joy uses Pinterest to save decorating ideas for her new home in LA. She saves patterns, furniture, and accessories that catch her eye.

Plan a Wedding!

Divya and Ben use Pinterest to plan their wedding. Their Moms can leave comments about the dresses, flowers, and ties they pin up.

Find your Style!

Tim uses Pinterest to share his personal style. He pins clothing, shoes and accessories he finds while browsing stores and fashion blogs.

Save your Inspirations!

Sha uses Pinterest to save design inspirations for his job. He can reference inspiring design work to share with his team at Trulia.

Save Your Recipes!

Jessica uses Pinterest to discover new gluten free recipes. She always has a collection of tasty appetizers and desserts she can cook when she’s hungry and looking for ideas.

Pinterest Mission

Is to connect everyone in the world through the ‘things’ they find interesting. We think that a favorite book, toy, or recipe can reveal a common link between two people. With millions of new pins added every week, Pinterest is connecting people all over the world based on shared tastes and interests.

65 thoughts on “Pintrest – http://pinterest.com

  1. Pingback: Gaining Interest on Pinterest

  2. Blossoms have invariably been an ideal thing for accessories and gift items.
    There are numerous forms of floral arrangements
    : bouquets, solitary flowers, plants in urns, corsages,
    and so on It really is sweet, it truly is romantic, in fact it is calming.
    It truly is REALLY LIKE.

    Plants make everyone feel a lot better. It goes way beyond the design and useful somebody.
    The consequence of flowers go way up in me the very center of the
    man or woman.

  3. I think that is one of the so much important info for me.
    And i am satisfied reading your article. However want to commentary on some normal
    things, The website taste is perfect, the articles is in point
    of fact great : D. Good process, cheers

  4. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  5. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  6. I have read some of the articles on your own website today, and I enjoy your style of blogging. I included it in order to my favorites web log list and you will be checking rear soon. Please take a look at my site also and allow me to know what we think.

  7. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.
    I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back later on.
    I want to encourage continue your great work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  8. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the favor”.
    I’m trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  9. I simply want to tell you that I am just new to blogging and honestly savored you’re web blog. Probably I’m going to bookmark your website . You definitely come with beneficial article content. Appreciate it for sharing with us your web-site.

  10. Hey. Quite good web internet site!! Man .. Outstanding .. Fantastic .. I’ll bookmark this web website and take the feeds also…I am happy to locate so significantly useful details here within the write-up. Thanks for sharing…

  11. I’m truly loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility troubles? A small number of my blog audience have complained about my blog not operating appropriately in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you might have any solutions to help fix this problem?

  12. Pingback: Using Pinterest to make Money | Designing

  13. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for
    me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Excellent work!

  14. Just wish to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your
    post is simply great and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  15. Have you ever thought about publishing an e-book or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and would really like to
    have you share some stories/information. I
    know my viewers would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  16. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this problem?

  17. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog. I really hope to see the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

  18. Wow, amazing weblog layout! How long have you ever been
    running a blog for? you made blogging look easy. The full look of your website is fantastic, as well as the content!

  19. you are in reality a excellent webmaster. The site loading speed is incredible.
    It seems that you’re doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a fantastic
    job on this matter!

  20. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it
    much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.

    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

  21. I feel this is among the such a lot important info for me.
    And i’m satisfied reading your article. However should remark on few basic things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is in point of fact nice : D. Just right activity, cheers

  22. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Ie.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to
    let you know. The layout look great though!
    Hope you get the issue fixed soon. Kudos

  23. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for
    me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much
    more useful than ever before.

  24. Hello there I am so delighted I found your blog page, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was searching on Digg for something
    else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and a
    all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
    do keep up the fantastic b.

  25. Hi there, I found your website by means of Google at the same time as looking
    for a comparable subject, your website came up, it looks
    great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just turned into aware of your blog via Google, and
    located that it is really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful in the event you proceed this in future. Lots of other people shall be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  26. I am curious to find out what blog system you happen to be using?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest site and I’d
    like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any solutions?

  27. I think this is one of the most significant info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is great, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  28. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you
    could be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely will come
    back someday. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice morning!

  29. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done a awesome job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Safari. Superb Blog!

  30. Valuable inputs my friend. Good content will always work…..but only if it reaches the readers, hence the importance of being socially visible with latest eye catching audio visuals. Great pointers. muito boa noticia, recomendo a todos comprar inscritos youtube

Leave a Reply

