Interesting Post on Mashable.com – 6 Posts That Build Engagement on Facebook

Original Article can be seen on this link : http://mashable.com/2012/07/05/facebook-build-engagement/

Aaron Lee is the social media manager at Binkd Promotion, a comprehensive platform for social media marketing through digital promotions and contests. He also writes social media tips on the Binkd Blog. Follow him at @AskAaronLee.

When Mark Zuckerberg first built Facebook, the purpose of it was to keep people connected with their friends. That was its first purpose. And it worked well.

As Facebook grew, its purpose grew to accommodate businesses. Hence the addition of Facebook pages for brands. But many brand page admins make the mistake of thinking of Facebook users as “friends” who will look at company posts simply because a company posts them.

That’s not true, and it’s not true because not all posts are created equal. Think of it this way, your business is not automatically friends with your audience. That only changes if you engage with them. Engagement on Facebook is reflected in three forms: likes, shares, and comments. Here are six ways to create the right type of engagement via posts for your brand.

1. Photos

We have all heard “A picture is worth a thousand words.” On Facebook, a picture could be worth a thousand likes. That’s because a picture is one of the simplest ways to catch someone’s attention, as it is more visually appealing than the average post. Think of it this way, when you are scrolling your news feed, isn’t it usually the large, colorful, images that get you to stop?

When it comes to brands, a familiar image is also key. Familiarity in an image is as simple as including your company logo or a face that’s tied to your brand. Including a shortened link for readers to click on, is also useful when it comes to engagement.

Social Fresh fully utilizes this to their advantage, as their pictures often come with shortened links. This helps to keep the focus on the interesting art, while also providing a way for the audience to get more information, if they want.

2. Fill in the Blanks

Fill-in-the-blank posts are great at sparking engagement. The blanks are essentially ‘platforms’ for people to share their creativity. These types of posts often garner fun and short comments, which then encourage your audience to react and interact.

Fancy Feast — a gourmet cat food brand — regularly creates these posts. The post in the image above received more than 170 likes, 407 comments, and twelve shares. Notice how the comments outnumber the likes.

3. Photo Captions


Photo captions bring the best of the two items above. All you have to do is post a photo and ask fans to come up with a caption.

The above is an example from National Geographic’s Facebook Page. They asked their audience to create a caption for this photo of a baby orangutan. It received more than 27,800 likes, 11,700 shares and 3,700 comments.

4. Questions

Most page admins make the mistake of updating their wall without putting much thought into adding a description or ending the description with a question. Asking questions is probably one of the easiest methods to get fans to comment and share their thoughts. Without asking a question, people might just read the article and move on.

Inc. Magazine posted an article with a question as its headline. In this case, the question requires that you give your feedback in the form of a personal story.

 Alternatively, you can also ask simple questions. Questions that requires the audience to choose — which would you prefer? Left or Right? — are able to generate comments because its simplicity means that people would not need to spend much effort or time to comment.

Here is an example from Ideeli, a web retailer that specializes in flash sales.

 5. Tips

Tips are ideas that fans are able to consume and implement easily. A tip is engaging because it gives value to your audience and therefore makes them more likely to react.

Here is an example from Mari Smith, a Facebook expert who shares great ideas and tips that add value to her community. Her tips are structured to help her community and are often written in a step-by-step process.

 6. Quotes

Quotes are one of the easiest and most popular ways to get likes and shares on Facebook. They tend to get more shares and likes compared to comments because quotes are often inspirational, making it personal in nature.

Here’s a great example from from Carolʼs Daughter, which received more than 7,910 shares and 22,141
likes. Inspired yet?

How are you currently engaging your audience on Facebook?

32 thoughts on “Interesting Post on Mashable.com – 6 Posts That Build Engagement on Facebook

  1. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too wonderful. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful website.

  2. Attractive component of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to claim that I get
    actually loved account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment or even I achievement you get entry to constantly fast.

  3. You are so interesting! I don’t suppose I’ve truly read through something like this before. So nice to discover someone with original thoughts on this subject. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is something that is required on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  4. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  5. hey there and thank you on your information ? I have definitely picked up something
    new from proper here. I did however experience several technical points the
    use of this site, as I experienced to reload the site lots of occasions prior to I
    may get it to load correctly. I have been considering
    in case your hosting is OK? Now not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading circumstances occasions
    will sometimes impact your placement in google and
    could damage your quality ranking if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I’m including this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot extra of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you replace this again soon..

  6. Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing.

    The clearness for your publish is just cool and that i can suppose you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to stay updated with forthcoming post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  7. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  8. I do trust all of the concepts you have offered to your post.
    They are very convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless,
    the posts are too quick for newbies. May you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

  9. Were a group of volunteers and starting a new
    scheme in your community. Your web page provided us with
    useful information to work on. You have performed an impressive job and our whole community might be thankful nearer.

  10. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain
    I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  11. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  12. Hey there, You have performed an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my pals.
    I’m confident they’ll be taken advantage of this website.

  13. I really love your blog.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you build this amazing site yourself? Please reply
    back as I’m attempting to create my own site and would like to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Thank you!

  14. I am curious to find out what blog system you’re utilizing? I’m
    having some small security problems with my latest blog and I’d like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any suggestions?

  15. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire
    someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as
    I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

  16. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague
    who has been doing a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me
    dinner simply because I discovered it for him… lol. So allow me
    to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah,
    thanks for spending the time to talk about this topic here on your internet site.

  17. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

  18. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not
    even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb
    blog!

  19. Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to grasp so much approximately this, like you wrote the e-book in
    it or something. I think that you can do with some % to force the message home a bit,
    however instead of that, this is great blog. A fantastic read.
    I’ll certainly be back.\

Leave a Reply

